Iowa has voted for the winning candidate in 6 of the last 7 presidential elections

2020 Election

CHICAGO (NewsNation Now) — The state of Iowa has long served as a presidential election bellwether. 

With the exception of the 2000 election, Iowa has voted for the winning presidential candidate every cycle going back 28 years to 1992. 

Interestingly, after two presidential cycles of voting for the Democratic presidential nominee in 2008 and 2012, Iowa turned in 2016 and voted for then-candidate Donald Trump. 

For the last 30 years, Amy Gilligan, native of Dubuque, Iowa and Executive Editor of Dubuque’s Telegraph Herald newspaper, has covered several presidential races in her home state.

“Even though Iowa is not terribly diverse, like much of the country, it does seem to have, there is sort of a bread and butter quality of American workers and American farmers,” Gilligan said. “And I think people take politics very seriously here, and they read about it, they care about it, they get invested and I think that starts with the Iowa caucuses. We don’t always pick winners in the Iowa caucuses — that track record’s not great — but usually Iowa can be a good indicator of which way the wind’s blowing.”

NewsNation’s Rudabeh Shahbazi spoke with Gilligan to find out why Iowa voted for President Trump in 2016, what’s changed four years later, and how she sees the state’s political landscape in 2020.

Watch the NewsNation interview in the video player above.

© 1998 - 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. | All Rights Reserved.

Trending on

Resources for the 2020 election

Your Vote. Your Nation.