After vote to impeach Trump, Rice loses South Carolina House seat

Elections 2022

(NewsNation) — Voters hit the polls Tuesday in four states: Maine, Nevada, North Dakota and South Carolina.

The primary elections served as another test for former President Donald Trump and the Republican Party.

South Carolina

Voters decided the fate of two South Carolina Republicans who had defied Donald Trump last year.

Decision Desk HQ projects Russell Fry is the winner of the Republican nomination for U.S. House District 7 in South Carolina, unseating incumbent Rep. Tom Rice.

Rice is one of 10 House Republicans who voted to impeach Trump. He has stood by his vote. Trump successfully endorsed Fry in the race.

Trump’s candidate for U.S. House District 1 in South Carolina did not take the victory, however. Trump backed former state representative Rep. Katie Arrington in the primary.

Decision Desk HQ projects that Rep. Nancy Mace, who was critical of Trump after the Jan. 6 Capitol riot, is the winner of the GOP nomination.

Mace went against Trump by voting to certify Biden’s presidential win in the 2020 election and to hold Steve Bannon in contempt of Congress. However, she also told voters she was one of Trump’s “earliest supporters,” saying she worked for his 2016 campaign and had his endorsement in her 2020 run.

As for the gubernatorial race, Decision Desk HQ projects Joe Cunningham the winner of the Democratic nomination for governor in South Carolina. He will face Incumbent Gov. Henry McMaster, who secured the GOP nomination earlier this evening.

Find South Carolina primary results here.


Analysts say a special election in South Texas could serve as a test for whether Republicans can keep making gains with Hispanic voters.

Four candidates competed to finish the term of former Rep. Filemon Vela, a five-term Democrat who left Congress to take a job in the private sector.

Decision Desk HQ projects Mayra Flores (R) is the winner of the special election for U.S. House District 34 in Texas. Flores won the GOP nomination for the seat in March.

Find Texas primary results here.


Decision Desk HQ projects Bruce Poliquin is the winner of the Republican nomination for U.S. House District 2 in Maine. Poliquin represented Maine’s 2nd Congressional District from 2015-2019 until losing to Democrat Rep. Jared Golden.

According to reports, Golden’s previous victory over Poliquin was the first congressional election decided by ranked-choice voting in U.S. history.

Tuesday night, Poliquin defeated primary challenger Liz Caruso.

Now, Poliquin and Golden will face off in a rematch. It’s considered to be one of the most closely watched races of the 2022 midterms.

Find Maine primary results here.

North Dakota

Decision Desk HQ projects Sen. John Hoeven the winner of the Republican nomination for U.S. Senate in North Dakota. Hoeven did not face a serious GOP challenger.

Decision Desk HQ projects Katrina Christiansen the winner of the Democratic nomination for U.S. Senate in North Dakota. She will face Hoeven. Find North Dakota primary results here.


In the state’s most liberal district, Democratic Rep. Dina Titus is facing progressive challenger Amy Vilela.

In 2018, Vilela lost the primary bid in a neighboring area to Rep. Steven Horsford. She served as Nevada’s co-chair for Bernie Sanders’ 2020 presidential campaign. Sanders and Rep. Cori Bush of Missouri have both endorsed Vilela.

Titus advocated for Biden during his 2020 presidential campaign. She has served six House terms. She also chairs a transportation subcommittee.

In the U.S. Senate race, according to the Associated Press, Adam Laxalt, a former state attorney general who had the backing of Trump, has been declared the winner over Sam Brown, a retired Army captain who earned a Purple Heart after being injured in Afghanistan. Laxalt is expected to face Senator Catherine Cortez Masto, a Democrat.

This page will be updated with notes on key races throughout the night. You can see up-to-the-minute results in the links above.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

© 1998 - 2022 Nexstar Media Inc. | All Rights Reserved.

Trending on NewsNation

Elections 2022

More Elections 2022