Does the mail run today? 10 holidays observed by the post office


(NewsNation Now) — The U.S. Postal Service recognizes 10 official holidays each year, including Columbus Day, or what is in some states called Indigenous Peoples’ Day or Native American Day. This means mail and packages are not delivered and post offices are closed.

According to the postal service, the following holidays are recognized in 2022:

Saturday, January 1New Year’s Day
Monday, January 17Birthday of Martin Luther King Jr.
Monday, February 21Presidents’ Day
Monday, May 30Memorial Day
Monday, June 20*Juneteenth National Independence Day
Monday, July 4Independence Day
Monday, September 5Labor Day
Monday, October 10Columbus Day
Friday, November 11Veterans Day
Thursday, November 24Thanksgiving Day
Monday, December 26*Christmas Day

NewsNation affiliate WCMH contributed to this report.

© 1998 - 2022 Nexstar Media Inc. | All Rights Reserved.

Trending on NewsNation

Elections 2022

More Elections 2022