South Dakota governor bans vaccine passports


PIERRE, S.D. (KELO) — South Dakota Republican Gov. Kristi Noem has signed an Executive Order banning vaccine passports in her state.

In a release, the governor said, “since the start of the COVID pandemic, we have provided South Dakotans with up-to-date science, facts, and data and then trusted them to make the best decisions for themselves and their loved-ones.”

She added, “I encourage all South Dakotans to get vaccinated against COVID-19, but we are not going to mandate any such activity. And we are not going to restrict South Dakotans’ exercise of their freedoms with un-American policies like vaccine passports. In our state, ‘Under God, the people rule.’ And that is how we will operate for as long as I am governor.”

Vaccine passports are a form of verification that an individual has been vaccinated, which could be used by government, private companies and event organizers to determine who can safely participate in certain activities or travel to certain places.

At the beginning of April, the Biden administration announced it would not issue a federal mandate requiring individuals to obtain a single vaccination credential, otherwise described as a ‘vaccine passport,’ saying that it expects the private sector to take the lead on the verification of COVID-19 vaccines.

Several other state governors have taken action to prevent vaccine passports from being mandated in their states including Florida and Missouri.

© 1998 - 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. | All Rights Reserved.

Trending on