‘The Squad’ wins: Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, Ilhan Omar, Ayanna Pressley and Rashida Tlaib win reelection to Congress


WASHINGTON, DC – JULY 15: U.S. Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-NY) speaks as Reps. Ayanna Pressley (D-MA), Ilhan Omar (D-MN), and Rashida Tlaib (D-MI) listen during a press conference at the U.S. Capitol on July 15, 2019 in Washington, DC. President Donald Trump stepped up his attacks on four progressive Democratic congresswomen, saying if they’re not happy in the United States “they can leave.” (Photo by Alex Wroblewski/Getty Images)

CHICAGO (NewsNation Now) — The self-described “squad” is back. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-N.Y.), Ilhan Omar (D-Minn.), Ayanna Pressley (D-Mass.) and Rashida Tlaib (D-Mich.) have been reelected to the U.S. House of Representatives.

All four members of the progressive squad of Democratic congresswomen have secured a second term. The women have championed issues of health care, climate change, racism, sexism and discrimination.

“Our sisterhood is resilient,” Omar tweeted.

“Serving New York-14 and fighting for working-class families in Congress has been the greatest honor, privilege and responsibility of my life,” Ocasio-Cortez said. “Thank you to the Bronx and Queens for re-electing me to the House despite the millions spent against us, and trusting me to represent you once more.”

Pressley announced her win in a tweet Tuesday.

“Together, we have fought for our shared humanity,” Pressley wrote. “I believe in the power of us. And we’re just getting started.”

The women forged to continue their fight on the hill.

“I will never back down because you deserve someone who won’t sell you out and will always stay #rootedincommunity,” Tlaib wrote via Twitter.

© 1998 - 2022 Nexstar Media Inc. | All Rights Reserved.

Trending on NewsNation

Resources for the 2020 election

Your Vote. Your Nation.

Elections 2022

More Elections 2022